About Us



The Toms River Fire Company Number One was organized in 1896 and is currently one of six all volunteer fire companies in Toms River Township.  The Township is divided into two Fire Districts, commonly referred to as District #1 and District #2.  District #1 is comprised of Toms River Fire Company #1, Toms River Fire Company #2, Ocean Beach Fire Company #3 and East Dover Fire Company #4. District #2 is comprised of The Silverton Fire Company #1 and the Pleasant Plains Fire Company. The Fire District is the governmental entity responsible for providing fire protection in the township.  The Joint Board of Fire Commissioners operate the Toms River Fire Academy, the Toms River Bureau of Fire Prevention and the Fire Dispatch Communications Center, along with joint and individual district administrative functions. The Toms River Fire Company #1 is a non-profit IRS 501c3 organization and was incorporated in the State of New Jersey in December of 1896.  Its charter was reaffirmed according to law in May of 1971. The object of the fire company is the preservation of life and property in conformance to the regulations of the Commissioners of Fire District #1 of the Township of Toms River. Toms River Fire Company #1, is authorized to have 65 active members by the Board of Fire Commissioners.  The membership is comprised of both corporate and firematic responsibilities. Members come from all walks of life and occupations to proudly serve their community in time of emergency. Its membership provide both emergency responses (such as fire protection, vehicle extrication, water rescue and technical rescue) and community service (such as organizing the Annual Halloween Parade) to the Township of Toms River. As a volunteer organization, its membership is not paid for their service.  This is a proud tradition that has continued throughout the companies history. The fire company currently has six firematic officers (Chief, Assistant Chief, Captain, First Lieutenant, Second Lieutenant and Fire Police Captain), these officers manage the day to day business of fire protection in the companies response area. The fire company also has corporate officers to manage the affairs of the corporation.  These officers consist of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Quartermaster, Chaplain and five Trustees. Both corporate and firematic officers hold office for one year and are elected by the membership after meeting specific training and participation standards. The fire company operates two fire stations, one on Robbins Street and the other on Cardinal Drive in Toms River. Fire company apparatus include a ladder tower, two fire engines, a rescue pumper, a chiefs command vehicle, a wave runner and a support vehicle. Drills to maintain proficiency are conducted every second, third and fourth Tuesday night at the main fire station on Robbins Street, starting at 7pm.

Meetings of the company are held the first Tuesday of each month at 7:30pm.